Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe

I’ve never made spare ribs before, so this is totally an experiment for me (just like everything else I attempt to cook)! I bought the spare ribs & then decided to search for a recipe that included ingredients I already had on hand. This is how I cook. I don’t like to go out to buy more ingredients. I adjust the recipe to what I already have. If I don’t have it, I either omit it or substitute it with something else. Maybe this is the reason why my food never turns out looking like the pictures. :-/

Well, let’s see how these spare ribs turn out.

Ingredients:
Tender Pork Spare Ribs – adapted from All Recipes
1 rack pork spare ribs, fat trimmed
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoons paprika
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon honey
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

The original recipe called for fajita seasoning. I had taco seasoning on hand, but then took a look at the ingredients. It was filled with tons of crap that I would not want to serve my family, so I omitted it. All those strange chemicals really scare me especially when you are putting it into your body. I’m trying to be proactive about what I eat & how to cook healthier for my family. It takes more vigilance but it’s definitely not impossible. As the saying goes, you are what you eat. I really don’t want to be a preservative or monosodium glutamate (aka MSG).
image
Wash your spare ribs & pat dry with paper towels. Trim off excess fat.
image
Mix all all your seasoning ingredients in a bowl. Then, rub the mixture on both sides of the ribs evenly. Place into a foil pan & Cover with foil. Leave in the fridge 24 hours to marinate the meat.
image
Pre-heat oven to 250 degrees F. Cover the ribs with foil. Bake for 3 ½ to 4 hours until the meat is tender.
spare rib1
Carefully take the pan out & pour the drippings into a saucepan. Set the ribs to the side. Cook the drippings over high heat until the sauce thickens 5-10 minutes. Brush the thicken sauce over one side of the ribs.
spare rib sauce
Preheat oven to the broiler setting & set the oven rack to approximately 6 inches from the heat source. Place the ribs back into the over & broil for 4 minutes until the sauce is lightly caramelized.
Brush Sauce
Take the ribs out of the oven & flip it over. Brush the sauce over the other side & broil for another 4 minutes. If you have remaining sauce, brush it on top of the ribs & you are ready to serve.

Cut RIb
Let the ribs rest a few minutes before cutting them.

Zucchini
Roasted Zucchini

2 large zucchini
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper
Paprika

Wash & chop the zucchini in half. Then slice them on the long side. Place them in a large bowl & add olive oil & season with salt, pepper & paprika. Place on a baking sheet in a single layer & bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.
Serve Rib
Roasted Garlic Sweet Potatoes

2 large sweet potatoes
5 cloves of garlic, minces
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper

Wash & peel the sweet potatoes. Cut them into little cubes. Place them in a large bowl & add minced garlic, olive oil & season with salt & pepper. Place on a baking sheet in a single layer & bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

Very Quick BBQ Sauceadapted from Food.com

2 tablespoon brown sugar
2 tablespoon ketchup
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

