Hammer Time

CrossfitDay1
Today marks my 2 year Anniversary with Crossfit. I get rewarded by almost getting a DNF this week. If you didn’t know, DNF means Did Not Finish.

Have I mentioned how much I despise WODs with a time-cap?!? I’ve only gone to 2 boxes where I’ve encountered time-capped WODs. I’ve ALWAYS finished my WODs. I mean, ALWAYS, except for that one crazy self-inflicted Seal-Fit WOD I tried back in 09/2011 with my crazy Latina. The clock was hovering around 47 minutes when we finished 2 out of 4 rounds, at which time, we received a stern warning that fundamentals class was starting soon & we had to wrap it up. But that’s another story to be told another day.

HAMMER” was time-capped at 25 minutes.
5 Rounds, each for time, of:
5 – Power Cleans 135# 65#
10 – Front Squats 135# 65#
5 – Jerks 135# 65#
20 Pull-ups (thin red band, felt like the thin purple band)
Rest 90 seconds between each round

I got to the last round & started the Jerks when the time was up. The coach informed us he’ll give us 2 more minutes. I finished the Jerks, & then went to do the pull-ups. The pull-ups are the bane of my existence, my weakness, my kryptonite. My arms felt like wet noodles & were nearly falling off my body at this point. I’m admitting to you that plain & simple, I’m slow. I got through 12 of them when the 27 minutes were up.

The coach was serious when he said we should be done by now. So I whimpered off the pull-up bar & wrote in my book those dreaded 3 letters, DNF. It was branded in my book, scorching hot to the touch. I nearly had to contain my tears. Ok, that’s a lie, I don’t cry at Crossfit (except for that one time I nearly did but that’s another story as well).
CrossfitDNF
The owner, another coach, came up to me & asked how I did. I told him I didn’t finish & I’ve NEVER not finished a WOD before. Yes, I had to use double negatives to get my point across. I mentioned I had 8 pull-ups left & he told me to go back on & just finish them. With that, I went back & knocked out my remaining 8 in 24 seconds. I felt relieved & satisfied at the same time because now I can cross-out DNF from my book. I tacked on the 24 seconds to my finished time.  

Hubby said I still DNF’ed the WOD because of the time-cap, but the fact is I still finished the WOD even if I didn’t meet the time limit. Those are just coach imposed time contraints because they don’t want the class to go on for too long. I don’t mind putting in the time & work into my WODS, but I do mind time-caps.

DNF has been scribbled out, so, it’s still a happy 2 year Crossfit anniversary to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

