All Burnt Out

sneaker

Sometimes we need to hang up our sneakers…

When I first started Crossfit, I was instantly addicted. I was so gung-ho about it that I went 4-5x a week. 9 months rolled on & my first Crossfit Games Open (2012) came. I was even more energized, so when I went 5-6x a week. After coming off of the CF Games Open high, I felt completely & utterly unmotivated. I had to drag myself to CF. Even then, I had to wake myself up from the deep mental slumber I was in. I didn’t know what was wrong with me. My body did the work, but mentally, I just wasn’t there. I knew I love CF, but my subconscious was protesting. It didn’t want this anymore. It was done. My body was there, but my mind had left the building. All I wanted to do was take a long nap. I didn’t think it was possible, but I was burnt out from Crossfit.

I had spoken to a fellow CF friend about how I felt. She had a longer CF background so she totally understood where I was coming from. She’s been there before & offered her advice. She told me I needed a mental break. She suggested I take 2 weeks off & when I come back, I’ll be (mentally & physically) stronger than ever.

I really didn’t want to take a break. I felt like my performance will go down the drain. I would have to start all over again. But, as it was, my performance was less than stellar. I wasn’t advancing. I was plateauing, possibly even declining. I was extremely disappointed with myself. I chose to listen to her advice & took 2 weeks off.

I desperately needed a mental recharge. It gave time for my body to heal from the abuse I put it through. My muscles weren’t constant sore anymore. My body felt whole again. It felt fantastic being away, but I still longed to be back at CF.

I’d have to admit, the first day back was a complete drag, but it felt so invigorating when I was done. The break was exactly what I needed to recharge & gather myself together again. Since then, I’ve taken 1-2 weeks off intermittently when I felt I’m nearing the burn-out phase. It’s always a welcome relief, both mentally & physically.

MunkieSlippers

…and trade them in for Munkie slippers to relax in.

Don’t be afraid to take some time out to give your body a rest. It will thank you for it. Your mind & body will be healthier with this balance. Give yourself a break; don’t be so hard on yourself. Everyone needs some time off every now & then. Listen to your body & be kind to it. This is the only way to lead a happy, healthy & balanced life.

Leave a Reply

