LÄRABAR über® Review

LÄRABAR über® Review

The LÄRABAR brand came out with a new über® Bar, which is supposed to be über delicious. On their website, they claim “LÄRABAR über® is a unique sweet and salty snack made from whole fruits and nuts. It’s big texture with big taste!” I’ll be the judge of that.

Costco offered a box of 18 for approximately $16, so I picked that up & had the hubby take ½ to try as well. They sell them for ~$1 at most places. The box offered 3 varieties: Roasted Nut Roll, Cherry Cobbler & Bananas Foster.

Roasted Nut Roll

Roasted Nut Roll

Hubby agreed the Roasted Nut Roll was the best out of the 3. It was lightly salted with sea salt. We both disliked the Cherry Cobbler. It was on the tart side & the nuttiness came mainly from almonds. It tasted nothing like a Cherry Cobbler. The Bananas Foster had a hint of banana taste from the dried bananas, but all flavors were overtaken by the brown rice syrup.

Cherry Cobbler

Cherry Cobbler

They all are very nutty, with a chewy crunch to it. There’s also a hint of sweetness from the brown rice syrup. I didn’t like the brown rice syrup. It left a strange, unpleasant taste in my mouth. All of them had this ingredient & this was the downfall of the über bars. The taste lingers in your mouth after eating them. It also made me really thirsty right before I went to Crossfit. I hated the feeling & needed to chug 16 oz of water to quench my thirst. And even then, I was still thirsty.

Bananas Foster

Bananas Foster

I would not buy these again. I would rather buy the regular LÄRABAR, which are tastier & uses honey as the sweetener. I would actually make my own LÄRABAR knock-offs instead, which turns out much better. And I can make them in bulk & for a more frugal price. They are super easy to make. That will be in another future post.

Have you tried the LÄRABAR über® Bar? What do you think of them? I’d like to hear your opinions.

Where to Purchase:
LARABAR uber – Roasted Nut Roll
LARABAR uber – Bananas Foster
LARABAR Uber – Apple Turnover
Larabar

Leave a Reply

