Quinoa Sausage Chili Crockpot Recipe

Venturing into the Crock-Pot world can be exhilirating or scary. I’ve never used one before, but upon closer examination, it looks pretty easy. There’s only 4 options on the dial: 4 hr, 6 hr, 8 hr or 10 hr. I mean, how can you really go wrong, right?!? Right?!? Well, if it’s up to me, I’m sure there’s a way for me to mess things up. 😀

Hubby mentioned he ate a quinoa chicken chili recently & thought it was yummy. So I found whatever was in the fridge & pantry to make a Quinoa Sausage Chili recipe. You knew I’m going to wing it, didn’t it? That’s my motto. Find whatever is around the house & use it. I really hate having to run to the store for this & that at the very last minute. And I like using up whatever is around the house first.

So here’s my take on the recipe. Hope you guys like it. 🙂

Quinoa Sausage Chili Crockpot Recipeadapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients:

1 (28 oz) can of crushed tomatoes
1 (14 oz) can of tomato sauce
1 (16 oz) bag of black beans (soaked in warm water overnight). Canned would be better, just rinse & drain the liquid.
1 (15 oz) can of chick peas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
5 cloves of minced garlic
1 cup sliced orange & red baby bell peppers
8 oz sliced mushrooms
2 cups chicken broth (more if the chili is still dry)
6 links of sausages (remove casing & break up the sausage)
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2-3 teaspoons chili powder
2-3 tablespoons Hot Sauce of your choice (I used Royal Castle Pepper Sauce from Trinidad&Tobago, my favorite!)
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon ground pepper
1 cup of quinoa, rinsed
Optional toppings of your choice – cheese, sour cream, avocados, and tortilla strips

chili1
Rinse the quinoa (check to see if yours need to be rinsed, mine didn’t) and then add everything into a 6 quart slow cooker. Mix everything up a bit.

chili2
Cook for 6-8 hours on low or 4-6 hours on high.

chili3
Garnish with the optional cheese, sour cream, avocados, and tortilla strips. I didn’t have any of that, so I just made a side of Garlic Dill Mashed Potatoes. Recipe for that to follow.

image
The chili came out very tasty. In the future, I would saute the sausages in a frying pan first before adding it into the crock pot.

Warning: Please make sure you don’t touch the metal side of the Crock-Pot. My arm brushed it accidentally & I ended up burning my arm a little bit. I currently have a scar & blister which makes me an unhappy & scarred Munkie.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

