Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Nail Polish Review

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics

174 Ludlow Street
New York, NY 10002
PH: 212-675-2404 | FX: 212-214-0636
Mon – Sat: 11:00AM – 7:00PM
SUN: 12:00PM – 6:00PM

I decided to walk into this store since I love looking at new cosmetics, even if I don’t buy anything. The store didn’t look like much. There were a few tables on both sides & the cashier in the far back. There were 2 associates who greeted us. One came by to talk to us about the products. They are 100% Vegan & Cruelty Free, which are 2 pluses.

OCC Lip Tars

The star of their line are the popular Lip Tars. They come in a range of colors. Interestingly enough, they even come in blue, green, yellow & black! I am so not daring enough to rock those colors on my lips, but more power to the people who can. They come in a tube like a lip gloss would & you would squeeze a little out to get a bright lipstick-like color, or use even less as a lip stain. You can also use it as a blush as well. The reds are really nice. They retail for $18-$25.

OCC Lip Tars Nail Polish

I browsed the selection of nail polishes which does not contain formaldehyde, thank goodness. They retail for $10. I’m very much into nail art & design, but honestly didn’t want to pay $10 for a bottle of nail polish. I so happened to be by the cashier & they had a few colors that are being discontinued for $5, so I ended up picking up 3 shades (Fondue, Chimera
& Cruising).

FondueChimeraCruising

I couldn’t wait to use the colors so I ended up using Cruising as the base, which is a nice gold metallic color. Then, I simply swiped Chimera, a nice metallic blue/green at an angle at the edge of my nail for a simple design. The polishes are highly pigmented which meant I didn’t need multiple coats for nail coverage. I love the way they shimmer in the light. They went on smooth, without any clumps & they dried quickly. My nails were done in less than 15 minutes.

Cruising

If you are in the neighborhood, stopping into the store could be beneficial for you. After getting home, I looked up reviews on the product. I looked on Yelp & saw many people saying if you check-in on Yelp, you’ll get a FREE nail polish. I was kicking myself for not checking in. *sigh* Plus, I have a love/hate relationship with Yelp as well. That’s another story to be told at another time.

Chimera

I think I really love them. I can’t wait to do other nail art with them. What do you think of the colors?

Where to purchase products:
Lip Tar
OCC Nail Lacquer, Fondue
OCC Nail Lacquer, Chimera
Nailtiques 1 – used as my base coat to help my nails get stronger. Here’s the larger bottle.
Nailtiques 2 – you’ll use this every day for a few weeks for brittle nails to get stronger.

Leave a Reply

