Goal Setting

With Crossfit & in life, we all need to set some goals for ourselves. This makes you accountable for your actions. You can write it on your fridge, whiteboard, post-it note, FB, Twitter, journal, or tell it to your significant other, best friend or your mom. Putting it out there makes it more likely for you to follow through with your goals.

Trying to be someone else is not a goal. Stay true to yourself & have realistic, attainable goals. Make sure these goals are for you & not to impress or to compete with someone else. Your goal is to be better than you were yesterday. You are only competing against yourself.

As many of you already know, reaching for a goal usually starts with baby step. For example, for someone who have never worked out before & have decided they will run a marathon next month, that is a potential injury waiting to happen. You will need to train for a marathon. You need work your way up to build mileage week after week, month after month. If you don’t, you are almost guaranteed to damage your body in some way. Start slow & build up gradually. You can work towards the marathon for next year instead of next month. That would be a much smarter way to approach things.

I walked into Crossfit June 2011 not knowing how to do nearly 90% of the movements. I definitely couldn’t do a pull-up. And then there were all those Olympic lifts that look insane. I’ve always felt strong but quickly realized my upper body was lacking. Everything was intimidating, but I started learning slowly & under the watchful eyes of the coaches. There were days I hated the attention from the coaches. I’d want to tell them to go bother someone else. Looking back, I am thankful for their attention. I’m thankful that they’ve instilled in me this level of performance & focus on form. I’ve gone to many different boxes since my first day of CF & I’ve gotten compliments on my form & how I don’t compromise it even when I’m at my most exhausted state.

It took me 5 months to really get the hang of Double Unders. It took me over 6 months to get a kipping pull-up. Almost 2 years later, I’m still working on my Olympic lifts. I’ll always be a work in progress.

Will I ever get to competition level? Probably not. I’m not even striving for that. My goal is to be as healthy as I can be today & continue this lifestyle for as long as I can physically do it. This is a lifestyle change. I’m not here to show off or brag about how great & strong I am, I’m here to make myself accountable for my goals. This is my blog & I’m putting myself out there.

These are my goals for 2013:

GoalSetting
I may not accomplish all my goals this year, but I sure as heck will try my absolute best to get there.

What are your goals? And how are you going about accomplishing them? I’d like to hear.

Leave a Reply

