Ego Waffles

Ego Waffles

Ego Waffles, it’s what’s for breakfast!

Many Crossfitter have heard the saying “Check your EGO at the Door” when entering a Crossfit box. Most people adhere to this rule, but there will always be those few that can’t quite get over themselves. We all know the type. They think they’re faster, stronger, but most of all, better than you. *gasp* To be honest, yes, they may be faster & stronger than me, but in no way are they better than me with that stinky me, me, me attitude.

WallBalls

Wall Ball Misery

Crossfit is a community of people doing the same thing, albeit modifying everything to each person’s own abilities. Everyone tries their hardest. I’ve had days where I had finished dead last. It really does a number on your confidence & you start to question your abilities, or the lack thereof. But, the most amazing thing happens as you go through this internal struggle with yourself & are ready to admit defeat, your coaches & peers are rooting for you, they want you to keep pushing, keep trying & to never give up. These people want to see you succeed. They’ll provide you strength when you feel like you have none left in you. This is one of the most wonderful things about Crossfit. This is what Crossfit is all about.

BoxJumps

One of my favs – Box Jumps!

Doing Crossfit makes many a men & women humble. It makes me humble. I know I’m good at certain movements, but I also know there’s so much more for me to learn & improve upon. I’m willing to listen to someone give me constructive criticism so I can better myself. And, I also know even if you excel at something, there will always be someone else who can do it better than you. It’s just a fact of life. And I am okay with that.

BoxJump

Where did everyone go?

What gets under my skin is when someone is constantly trying to best you. They want to beat you at every WOD, by finishing before you, or run faster than you. There are other people in the class, but they target you. They deem you as their competition, even when you are not aware of this so-called competition. This may push that person harder & they might end up with higher reps or a faster time, but I can almost gaurantee you they cheated themselves in the end. Many times they rush though with improper form, or they went with a lighter weight so that they could do faster reps, or used a heavy band to make pull-ups/chin-ups/ring rows easier. My take on this is, go ahead, do whatever makes you feel good, but I know I didn’t cheat myself. I know I don’t want to injure myself by compromising my form to finish the WOD faster. I can be proud of myself by using a heavier weight & finishing last because I truly challenged my abilities.

RopeClimb

Even girls can Rope Climb!

Another case in point involve guys that just can’t stand getting bested by a girl.

First thing first, I’m not a big girl. Secondly, I’m Asian. Okay, that has nothing to do with anything, I just wanted to say I’m Asian & proud of it. 🙂 Anyway, most people see me as a little girl, & they are constantly surprised I can clean & jerk 80lb, push press 85lbs, deadlift 175lb, do kipping pull-ups unassisted & do 104 consecutive double unders. I can do all that because I’ve invested many hours of time, energy, sweat, frustrations, whip lashes & tears to accomplish my goals.

DoubleUnders

Double Under Blues

Back to my point, so the other day I suggested we do extra credit after our WOD by ending it with 100 DUs. The coach suggested we time it, so we (4 guys & lil ole me) all agreed. I finished in 1:17 mins. Not my best but it’s pretty darn good. This is my forte. One of the guys finished not too long after me, but he was not a happy camper. He insisted on a re-do. He messed up at the beginning, blah, blah, blah, excuses, bs, blah, blah, blah. We all have off-days, so how come he couldn’t accept the fact that I had finished before him? Well, I think it’s because 1) he thinks he’s better than me & 2) I’m a girl, how could I possibly beat him?!? That’s unheard of. Some guys just can’t stand a girl being better at something, especially when that something involves strength or speed.

What do I say to this? Check your friggin’ ego at the friggin’ door, you friggin’ girly man. Suck it up & be happy for me while you eat a piece of humble pie. But, I have a feeling he has secretly vowed to beat me next time. Ha! Some things can’t be changed so easily.

RopeClimb

Boys & Girls climbing rope in harmony.

Ego waffles – It’s what’s for breakfast, but make sure you poop it out before walking into your next Crossfit box.

Leave a Reply

